Greetings! Hope all my peeps are enjoying the weekend. Here in Perth, the weather conspiracy continues: After a week of mid 20s this weekend suddenly jumps in to mid/high 30s. Crazy right?

Anyway, this post stems from this news article about a student in New Zealand auctioning her virginity online for (supposedly) paying for her studies. Apparently she has got over $30,000 for it and has said it’s more than she had hoped for. You have to agree that getting more than you hoped for is always a good thing!

Jokes aside though, I was taken by surprise to see such a news coming from a developed country. (NZ is a developed country, right?) I was under the impression that there are ways to help out students in these countries. Maybe it’s not the case and it is really tough to pay school fees. However, my impressions ins that this girl just thought prostitution is an easier carrier path. Really, how hard could it be for people from these countries? I came here to Kanga land as a student and paid through my nose for my learning – more than triple the amount that locals pay for school. The local students didn’t even have to pay their fees straight up, using a loan scheme called HECS (or something like that), they could pay their dues later on once they got a job! What most of these students do is party it up spending every cent they’ve got and then wonder how to survive until the next paycheck.  Now, I don’t know if the setup in Kiwi land is the same, but I am assuming there might be something similar going on there as well.

But I guess it is human nature to complain. Most people are never content with the stuff they have, they always want more at a lesser cost. Be it HECS here in Aussie land or the school system inNZ or ‘Free Education’ in the land of the lions, people always want more. They always complain how hard it is. Come on folks; try putting things into perspective once in a while. Learn to be appreciative of the things you have before selling out like the girl that paved the way for this post.

That’s it from me for now. Enjoy the rest of the weekend.

