I got a smart phone.

This is not a strange thing for someone to do in this day and age. But it is a bit strange for me. When it comes to mobile phones, it’s fair to say that I haven’t kept abreast of the times. Well, to  say that I am an uber noob would be more fitting.

Looking back, I’ve only ever really used two mobile phones. The first one was a Nokia 3410 that I got 2006. I absolutely loved this phone. In an age where my peers were carrying around N93’s, one had to be brave to carry around this phone. That phone took so much abuse from me that it was a miracle it survived. But it was a sturdy phone and no matter how many times I dropped it, it kept on working. I was dating my now wifey during this time. So, in addition to constantly being dropped on the ground, I took a ridiculous amount of calls from this phone that counters such as ‘minutes called’ literally started to malfunction! I bid farewell to that awesome phone when I moved to Kanga land, but it was not going to retire that easily. My sis was going to keep using the phone.

Once in Kanga land, I got a Nokia 6120. Good sturdy phone, that again managed to survive being dropped on a regular basis. I only used it for calls, short messages, taking an occasional picture and playing the one game that came pre-installed. I was advised by phone fanatics that I can download more games and such, but this notion never appealed too much to me.

Two years later I got a Nokia 6700. I never liked this phone much. It was very flimsy and didn’t like being dropped that much. It met it’s untimely death just a couple of months after coming into my possession when I took it the beach and a bit of sea water touched it. That phone worked sporadically for a week or so after coming into contact with sea water, but that was the end of the road for that. So, I went back to my trusty old 6120 and have been using it ever since.

After much deliberation and waiting about I have just got a Samsung Google Nexus S. I was thinking of getting an iPhone since these days every second person you meet has one. But, they are so damn expensive that one wonders if they are made of gold. So, I was pondering whether to go for the older iPhone 3G or newer and much expensive iPhone 4, I sought some advice on G+. ‘Neither’ was the most popular response and so I had to look for alternatives. The Nexus S was suggested. A bit  of research showed that it’s got most of the capabilities of the iPhone 4 while being significantly cheaper. There wasn’t anything left to do but go down to a phone shop and get one. Which I did, yesterday. For the few hours that I’ve owned it, it has been pretty good.

I doubt if this will survive being dropped even once though!! Maybe a phone insurance is in order…

