I’m  suffering from withdrawal right now. Facebook withdrawal that is.

Yes! I quit Facebook. Hopefully for good.

I have been considering it for quite a while now. Why? Well, it’s a combination of many factors. The constant and unwanted changes to the layout, the ever changing security policies, the repetitive copy paste status updates, everything Sayy talks about here, most of my friends slowly retracting from using it, people trying to enforce artificial rules on it, et cetera.

Last week it all came to a head. The final straw was when photo security was changed overnight. I had always restricted my albums to be viewable only to my ‘friends’ – people I had added. But, FB suddenly decided that any picture will be viewable to all the ‘friends’ of anyone who is tagged in that picture. If I wanted to change that, I had to go in and manually change the privacy for each photo/album.

I had over a 1000 photos on fb with plenty of ‘friends’ and even ‘friends of friends’ tagged in them. The fact that some people add just anyone and everyone to their friend list coupled with the new privacy setting meant that those pics would be visible to a whole bunch of people I didn’t even know about. The photos themselves were harmless, but it’s the principle that mattered. Where does FB get off just changing stuff up like that? Not just for new content, but for existing content. Content I had added over the past four years. There was no way in hell I was gonna sit there and go through each album and change privacy settings. And to what end? So, FB can change things up in three months or so? I had had enough.

Facebook had stopped being fun and started being work. Either FB had to change, or I had to change. I decided to go with the one party that I could control.

So, that’s it. The end of an Era. Also, the official start to me being full time on Google+. This time I’m wiser and so is social networking. So, hopefully we won’t make the same mistakes again.

